Mobile home Lots

13 Replies

Need to get some of your wisdom on this situation I'm going through.  I am purchasing a lot that allows mobile homes.  I want to owner finance them in order to make them affordable to buyers for a quick sale.  What type of paper work/documentation do I need in order to make the deal legal?  Do I need to hire a lawyer?  Also if they are making payments do they get the deed when they give me the down payment or do I hold on to it until they pay it off?  And if I keep the deed will they be allowed to purchase a mobile home from a dealer if they do not have the deed in hand? 

Anybody ever tried this strategy before? If so, please respond.

Hi @Michael Swanigan  ,

I do not have any experience with mobile homes on private land. However, I know some people seller finance land lots and traditional building by using Land Trust. I have basic knowledge about land trust. 

If you use land trust, you do not transfer deed on the buyers name until they paid off the loan. 

You are just selling the mobile homes and then renting them the land correct?

Get Lonnie Scruggs book, Deals on Wheels and it will have the paperwork you need in the back of the book and you can just copy it onto your computer. You do not need a lawyer.

If you do lease to own they do not get the title until the mobile home is paid for in full.

So I would hold off just a bit prior to buying a book and copying any finance forms.