Mobile Home with Land

8 Replies

I am looking at a Mobile Home with land (1.5ac) that is in the foreclosed market. It's priced at 37k. I am looking to rent it out a feel it would rent for $400.00 a month. I have never had dealings with a Mobile Home so I would appreciate any pros or cons on this idea.

Thank You!

Hi Joey! It is funny that you posted this because I just received a phone call from someone looking to sell her mobile home and I have no experience in this arena. So I thought... I need to go on BP for input! 

The seller stated she just wants it off her hands, it is now vacant. I am located in NY and the property is about 1 hour away from my general area where I typically invest in. She believes the property is worth at least $25,000 and she would like to get $25,000. I have not spoken to her about yet about what I would offer since I have not seen it and just ran the comps. It seems like it is actually only worth $17,000 ( pulled comps) and was purchased in 1998 for $18,000. She stated that the interior does need rehab, everything is original (1970) and the garage door needs to be replaced. She will be sending me pictures of the interior, exterior, and garage. 

720 sq ft, 1.5 detached car garage, .5 acres. There is a 1 acre lot down the road that contains a 1 car garage that is selling for 29,000 - that is what she said she is basing her comps on...

I wholesale but I have never been involved with a mobile home transaction. But if there is a little money to be made in this deal, I cannot pass it up! The mobile home is located not too close to anything, mostly just farm lands. So I am not too sure if it is a desirable area. 

I would LOVE to hear from other investors that wholesale, rehab, and/or rent mobile homes. Pros / cons and how to make it work if possible!

Thank you in advance for your insight.  :)