first time buying an older single wide in a park

8 Replies

I have a chance to buy a single wide 1970s mobile home for a few hundred dollars. It's in a park, has some plumbing and floor issues needing fixed. I am new to investing and curious as to what strategies could work with a deal like this, or if it is even worth it?

@Alex Elliott - I don't really deal with mobile homes, but keep in mind that in a mobile home park, you'd only be buying the trailer, not necessarily the property or "lot" that it sits on. Most parks have "lot rent" that is a few hundred dollars per month, and may or may not include utilities.

Be careful that your seller isn't giving away their mobile home just so they can get out of their lot rent (and saddle you with it instead).

Jeff Copeland, Broker in FL (#BK3326487)
727-235-7988

I'm not a mobile home investor, but I would ask a few questions. 

1) What are the value of fixed up mobile homes there? In lower end price points, it's not uncommon that even regarding dirt cheap properties, the required repairs would force you to rehab out all the equity.

2) Do you plan to flip or hold? And if you want to hold, does the park even allow you to rent? 

look up "john fedro".  Make sure you know what the park will and won't allow.  :-). Good luck!  

I do buy and hold mobile homes, and they can be very good investments. But you have to, first, find out if the park allows subletting. Or maybe you're planning to flip it? If the latter, you'll need to know the laws around carrying back (few lenders will lend on old mobiles).

In either case, you'll need to run some numbers to determine the value of this investment. Dawn is right on in recommending that you study everything John Fedro puts out. Here's his website:

http://www.mobilehomeinvesting.net