What does a "rentable mobile home look like"?

8 Replies

I'm new to this wing of investing. We are currently evaluating a park with 4 vacant park-owned-homes. They are in pretty rough shape inside, but definitely aren't bad enough off that we would scrap them. They need new carpet, a solid clean out, and some of the floors have some water damage which would need to be repaired (along with the spots in the roof that caused the leaking). Cabinets are in place, and overall the fixtures are not terrible (maybe have to replace some door handles and things of that nature). I know this is an incredibly tough question without seeing the homes, but what's the average cost to bring a mobile home in bad shape in the inside up to "rentable condition"? I know what I would and would not live in, but I'm not a mobile home tenant. Exterior of these homes is fine (skirting is one and they all have decks). General numbers on how much you would spend to rehab a home would also be helpful. Thanks much.

Shouldn't cost that much. Really depends how much the contractor you hire decides to charge you and what other problems each home might have.

Sounds like maybe a $2,500 rehab. Nothin to it but to do it!

Not saying the $2500 is low or not achievable.  But problem subflooring is a time eater.  Rolling the roof fixing + glue is easy enough.  Not done it myself but the local MHP supply store will have the material and talk you through it. 

I'll guess 800 sqft since you didn't say.  The hot tactic is to NOT do carpet, but wood grain vinyl through out.  Use the new thick stuff.  about 1/8" think.  Stronger and hides floor mis match.  Lasts longer than carpet.