Lonnie Scruggs - Deals on Wheels

18 Replies

I am reading the book now and it is lots of fun. I have no experience in mobile homes whatsoever and really wonder:
- Are there still Lonnie deals out there?
- when he talks about buying single wides for $2,000-3,000 - are we taking modern era or it was 20 years ago???:). Are these deals realistic now?
- is sellers financing on mobile homes dead because of new regulation? SAFE act/Dodd Frank.

Not sure why you would want to spend 2-3k on old PRE HUD singlewides or any wides for that matter. PRE HUD or not. What would you do with them? Where would you put them? If they're in a MH rent/lease park community you most likely wouldn't be able to sub lease them because most MHP owners don't allow sub letting.

In answer to your other question re: owner financing? You're absolutely right Dodd Frank would slap your knuckles pretty hard for that unless it was a one time deal and it was your own home and you agreed to take a down payment and let the buyer pay you over a period of time. But even that can be sticky. 

As one holding the paper you could also end up being the one holding the bag should the buyer just simply decide that they didn't want to make anymore payments to you. In fact I know of a person who got deliberately scammed by a couple of pretty shrewd operators who knew about the SAFE/DF law and played the seller to the max on it and actually ended up with the home and it wasn't a MH.

Personally after 3 decades in this biz doing just about everything there is to do in it I see very little value spending any money on old beaters. Besides they blight the landscape and are ready for the boneyard. Think new my friend and I'd be thinking multi wides not singlewides. 

I did two "Lonnie" deals last year here in Idaho.  Bought one for $1500, put $700 into fixing it up and sold it on short term contract for $5500. They made their final payment four months after we signed.