Tenant Screening help - Mobile Home Park

13 Replies

Can anyone give me some advice on Tenant Screening for Mobile Home Parks? Is it any different in your experience than SFH or Apartment?

Thinking of charging an application fee to weed out some people, but I'm not sure if that would work well or not in this niche. But I also don't want to waste alot of time.

If you have any experience, please let me know your thoughts.

Hi @Kenny Stanley

When I worked in the MHP business, we found it similar to SFR rentals in terms of screening. Credit checks, application fees, etc.

We found the best tenants were actually future homeowners so we tried to do rent-to-own/owner financing with the majority of tenants. We would essentially  buy the units wholesale or refurbished and owner finance the units to the prospective residents. That way we would get a larger down payment and it led to higher quality clientele (since homeowners tend to care about their property more than tenants). Not sure if this is an option that works for you, but something to think about.

@Dave Van Horn Thank you Sir! That is exactly what my partner and I intend to do with any of the mobile home parks we purchase through our direct mail marketing. Just wanted to understand the tenant screening a little bit so I can hit the ground running, and have a system in place.

@Kenny Stanley Oh that's great, happy I could be of help. Do feel free to reach out if you have any other MHP questions.

Originally posted by @Kenny Stanley :

@Dave Van Horn Thank you Sir! That is exactly what my partner and I intend to do with any of the mobile home parks we purchase through our direct mail marketing. Just wanted to understand the tenant screening a little bit so I can hit the ground running, and have a system in place.

I would use cozy for the application 

They pay direct to cozy and you get a report

The tenent is then all set up to make their rent payments via cozy