Evaluating mobile home park

17 Replies

Hello bp, I’m new to the mobile home park investors group. I’ve flipped some sf properties and have a few rentals. I came across a mobile home park and was wondering how to figure out if it’s a good deal. I don’t have all the details yet but wanted to see if anyone can point me in the right direction. Thanks again.

I found out a few more details about the mobile home park. It’s a 10 home park. Most of them are 1970s mobile homes. 3 need to be removed. One person needs to be evicted. 5 homes paying 480-500/month. After hearing the details I’m pretty he’s asking too much. He wants 200k.

@John Hovanec I would look at it. $2500 per month is the gross rent. That's $30K per year gross, so $200K is a 15% Gross rent multiplier. I would like it at 20%. I would walk the property and see how flexible he is or if he would remove the 3 bad ones as part of the deal. It is a 10 trailer park with only 50% of the potential rent coming in. If you can get it to 100% occupied and paying, you would essentially double the value. 

@anthony Dooley
Thanks for the info. Should I be worried about the homes being from the 70’s. I know I would be able to move some newer ones in but that’s also more money. I’m new to the mobile home parks and just seems high 6 livable homes for 200k. I could make $3000/month without any more money inputted. I probably couldn’t find a bank for a loan on that old of properties. So I would have to use a private investor but would I be able to refi out of it? Thanks for any more info.

@John Hovanec , unless you live nearby and will be doing all repairs yourself I would run the other way. While the gross income is $3k a month, you still have taxes, insurance, utilities, etc. Plus, your initial expenses due to deferred maintenance will eat into most, if not all, of that.