Skip to content
Mobile Home Park Investing

User Stats

Votes
Dan MacDonald
  • Residential Real Estate Agent
  • Arlington, VA
Votes |
Newbie needs help analyzing a mobile home!

Dan MacDonald
  • Residential Real Estate Agent
  • Arlington, VA
Posted Apr 24 2013, 20:19

Hey everyone,

Before I describe the situation, I'll tell you a little bit about me. I am completely new to real estate and real estate investing. I've never even bought a personal residence. I feel like I've done enough "educating" at this point though and I'm ready to start learning-by-doing. I started my efforts this week by calling homeowners who posted ads on Craigslist to see if I could find anyone really motivated. After a few phone calls and a few emails, I think I found one. And his property is a mobile home.

I've set up an appointment with him to view it on Saturday, but I wanted to get your thoughts on the situation beforehand so I go in with a good strategy (and avoid any major mistakes).

Here are the facts:

location: Virginia (40 miles south of DC. Near Quantico, which is where many of the park's residents work/worked)
Home description: 2bd/1ba, kitchen, living room, parking for two, shed/storage garage in back yard
condition: needs work (his last tenant beat the place up -- tore up carpet, broke window, stole fridge, maybe other problems too)
rent: $400/mo (to be clear, this home does NOT come with land. The owner pays $400/mo to the park manager to keep the home on the lot)

He claims that he has been able to rent the home for $1,000/mo before. That seems hard to believe, but I've not been able to get any professional opinions yet.

Situation: The owner is pretty strapped. He doesn't have the cash to fix the place up to re-rent it, so he needs to sell it "as-is." He's working a few jobs to make ends meat, but his bills are mounting and needs to sell this thing.

His ad listed the price/terms as follows: