Buying first mobile home

5 Replies

So I’m new to investing and I’m buying my first mobile home to live in, renovate, then eventually resell (hopefully within a year) what are something’s I should ask before making this purchase?

Hey @Zoie Holley , welcome to the BP community!

A live-in mobile home flip? Very cool! These are the questions that come to my mind..

Do they have title?? Don't purchase your first MH without a title.

Is this in a park or on land? If in a park, how much is lot rent? If on land, are you renting the land or purchasing it? 

Do you have experience with construction or working on MHs? Do you know what it is going to take to fix it up?

How much will you be selling for? Does your market allow for full, cash buyers? Or, will you be financing the home? What level of renovation does your market allow for?

What kind of plumbing is in the home? If it's polybutylene (flexible black stuff), plan to replace all of it before anything else.

How's the roof? If it's shot, this will likely be your second priority, after the poly.

How's the frame of the home? This is something you can't really fix but it's good to know since the home will not be able to be moved if the frame is bent/warped. 

Hope that helps get you started! Please, feel free to reach out anytime if you have other questions or just want to chat!

@Zoie Holley If it's a used mobile home (not a new one), you'll have to be sure to inspect everything. Ask the seller what types of maintenance items (if any) have been done over the years. Things you'll want to get checked include: the roof, heating and air conditioning, plumbing, subfloor (check for soft spots), siding and skirting. 

Apart from the home itself, you'll need to make sure you can get a clear title. Check with the seller to see if there's a mortgage on the home. Ask if taxes are paid up. Usually, they will have a folder for the home with all of the paperwork on it.