Easement - Reason not to purchase?

21 Replies

Hi BP Family -

A property I'm interested in purchasing as a short term rental has an unsolved easement on it due to the neighbor having built their driveway 2 feet over their property line - into the one I'm considering.

Would this be a reason not to purchase? Any major red flags to close on a property with this easement unsolved?

Huge thanks for any POVs.

I'm not a lawyer, but this has been my observation.  

It would only be a problem if you care about the encroachment and would want the neighbor to move their driveway.

In many states, if there is a boundary that has been observed by neighbors, it becomes the de facto property line, so even if you wanted to sue for that 2 feet, you might not get it.  If you don't care about the 2 feet, then it's no big deal.

How long has the driveway been over 2 feet on the property? If it has been more than 10 years it would be easement by prescription. Which means that it has been there for more then 10 years and no one ever cared that it was there. This making it a legal easement. If it is less than 10 years you might have recourse with the neighboring lot. Always check with a real estate attorney when you have this kinds of questions. I know of one of my investors friends that had an air conditioner 2" over the property line and the people who bought the vacant lot next to him caused him so much trouble over the 2" easement he ended up selling the property. 

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

@Greg Scott @Zachary Fix appreciate the quick notes.