Is obtaining a real estate license worth it for a new investor?

9 Replies

Hi All! 

I am new to investing, looking to get into flips initially and then potentially work my way into buy and hold properties. I was thinking about obtaining my real estate license (Pennsylvania) in order to learn a bit more but more importantly, access the MLS. From my understanding, I would have to hang my license under a broker in order to be active and access the database. At the moment, I have my current full time W2 job while also actively pursuing my own investment properties and flips, so dedicating additional time to a broker sounds daunting. I've done my fair share of research and some may say "waste of time, find an agent for the MLS automated listings"- but wouldn't it be helpful if I could do myself? Any insight or guidance here? Any and all information is appreciated. [I'm located in Philadelphia, if that helps :)]

Thanks!

-Stephanie

I have done it both ways, I have bough a lot of properties before I became licensed and we are still activly buying since I quit corporate, work as a full time agent and grew a team. 

In theroy you can list all the benfits, access to information etc. and it seems to make sense. But in the real world if you don't do this full time, you don't know what you are doing and are better off to outsource this part.

You could also get your plumbing license; you could do all your own plumbing and save a ton of money..   

The issue is that most agents (maybe over 95%) are not active investors, so they are of little help (well, too many are of litte help for anything) - so you will need to spend some time to find someone who knows more than you do and therefore can provide value!

@Stephanie Althouse

You should get your real estate license if you want to help buy and sell houses for other people.