Are title companies necessary or can you close an RE deal without one?

19 Replies

As a former agent, I never questioned the use of title companies. I understand that they provide title insurance, but what exactly do they do that I can't do myself?

This borders on a legal question, but I think one can draw up and create their own deed, do their own HUD-1, and take the deed to the courthouse and record it without an attorney or title company. I have done the recording part myself many times. For that matter, I doubt that a HUD-1 is even required if there is no financing. And as far as I know, there is no requirement to record a deed at the courthouse either. The rules and law may vary by state. I am not an attorney, and this is not legal advise.

To the best of my knowledge, no, title companies are not necessary however... I think you'd be hard pressed to find anyone with any experience at all, who would tell you it's okay to go without! Yes you can do it all yourself but remember that means you take on all the risk and liabilities that could come up as well.

Beware!!!

Title insurance is the issue. You can prepare and record deeds, just like escrow. But then the title is not insured. So if any one makes a claim to the property, and/or if there are any title problems when you go to re-sell or refinance, you won't be covered.

Always buy title insurance. That being said, I've prepared and recorded quite a few of my own docs, including deeds. The values were low enough or the circumstances didn't require title insurance, so the risk was low. When I go to re-sell it's like starting over. The title companies where I am won't insure over previously uninsured deeds, so they always go back to the sellers for affidavits or new deeds.

Title insurance required by lenders to insure the collateral is secure....hence title companies are needed, otherwise, not required but foolish not to have them to get clean title/ ins/ escrow/ recording etc.