Buying House with loud road noise

10 Replies

Just had an offer on a house to flip. Front of the house was quiet, no noise inside. Back yard backed up to a busy road with cars going by at 45-55mph. Constant traffic. Very heavy road noise in the back yard that was at random times as a car would go by, not a constant hum like a major highway

I think it would have an effect on resale.

The person I was going to partner with says it would have no effect.

Mute point as our offer was not accepted. But curious on everyone's opinion for future reference.

As an agent I consider it External Oblesence and it would detract some buyers. ARV was $390K

Hi John, I think often you would be correct but not always. In some communities or in some neighborhoods this does not seem to matter. You would need to do a matched pair analysis to determine what if any effect this might have. This can be difficult to do unless you have enough comps but you would need to see similar sold properties on the busy road and off to see what effect the busy road might have.

We have some properties like that in Phoenix. From what I've seen around here, value might not be impacted as much as DOM. It just takes the right type of person to be OK with the backyard noise.

What kind of noise cancelling exists back there already? Brick wall? Could you have added a few layers to the brick wall to help with the sound? Are there any trees lining the back wall? If not, could you plant a row of trees without having any power line obstructions?

The more you can distract a potential buyer from the traffic the better.

yes it would be an obstacle for some.

One of my friends has a rental that backs up to a parkway where cars zoom by 60-70 MPH. He planted Itallian Cypress trees close together about ten feet up the side of each neighboring fence and along the back fence.