Guidance on structuring a deal

2 Replies

Hi Everyone,

Im a newbie to BP and need some guidance on a potential oppty in NJ.

ARV of property is approx $140k. Prop needs no more then $20k in repairs. Property is owned free and clear by the owner.
Problem is the owner thinks the property is worth $160 - 180k, but is willing to take $140k for it :-).
I let him know that would obviously not work for me, I could offer $60k......he is not willing to go for that but is open to creatively working something out. The owner is disabled, wants out asap, and needs approx $40k to move.

I was wondering if a deal could be structured in a manner in which I can give him approx $40k, and then I get the first $40k in profit and then he either keeps profit above and beyond or we split profit above and beyond. For example.

- Owner gets $40k up front to move.
- I invest another $20k to rehab.

- Property sells for $140k
- After commission, and other expenses there is $125k net.
- I recover my total investment of $60k plus my profit of $40k. Owner gets the remaining $25k.
OR
- I recover my total investment of $60k and we split the profit. Owner gets the remaining $32.5k and I get $32.5k

Is something like this possible? If so how?

Thank you!!!

I am a newbie too, so I don't have any real advice on how to split.

I would be concerned that you and the Owner are not on the same page.

Your first statement: He wants 140k + it needs 20K in reno. = 160k

Is he agreeing the property needs reno of 20K and is saying the least he would take now is 120k?

You are probably better at this than me but I like to keep my deals KISS.

I would just try to get a real purchase price out of him (say 85k or what ever your threshold is), give him 40K down and have him hold the note on the rest earning him a nice return. then flip it and move on.