Minneapolis - Penn Ave Area

16 Replies

Hi,

I'm a Biggerpockets newbie and a duplex owner in Los Angeles. I have family living in St Paul. I have been looking at duplex properties in Minneapolis for a few weeks now. (At first glance, the math makes more sense there). I came across some single homes on Penn Ave in the 55411 area under 90k.

At first blush, some of them look decent. Inspections will obviously reveal the truth. I am also aware that Minneapolis is expensive with regards to property prices etc but cheaper the LA.

My family who live in the suburbs of St Paul are a tad leery of this area (it isn't exactly the 'burbs) meaning, I have to tread extra carefully and probably have to think about outsourcing property management IF (and only if) a deal is too good to walk away from.

I have started to have exploratory conversations with a realtor who has quite a few listings in this area. Any firm decision is far from made on my end as I'm keeping an open mind and will walk away from the idea of investing in this city if the conditions force me to.

I am going to Minneapolis this summer to spend a week scouring potential properties (with an open mind) and may choose to just stick to the Los Angeles market.

To the savvy investors in this forum:

Has anyone invested in this zip code area and if not does anyone have any knowledge about this area of Minneapolis? All input is greatly appreciated.

Thank you all!

Francis

Hi @Francis A. best of luck with your search.

I don't mean to pull you off topic, but would you be interested in sharing the economics of your search in Minnesota? (private message if preferred) I'm always curious to hear the thoughts behind moving money out of one's primary market, particularly when the deals are small (SFR or duplex) and only accessible by plane if you need to visit the site.

I've been resistant to do so myself over the past 20 years and have heard far more regrets than success. No judgement, strictly curiousity.

Best of luck