Newbie in Real Estate Wholesaling

15 Replies

I wanted to start as a real estate wholesaler. I live in Stockton California and have been doing a lot of research with being a wholesaler. I have very little capital and I am trying to develop a buyer's list now and have a few questions.

I am new at this, so I hope I am asking the right questions.

1) Does anyone have any point of contact near Stockton,CA whom I can shadow?

2) Is it true that I do not need a license to do wholesale?

3) How can get a sample contract for my use?

4) How long should I hold a contract before selling?

5) Do I inspect the home first then have my cash buyer inspect?

My understanding with wholesale is there is a seller, me(wholesaler) and

then the cash buyer. Are there any parties involved?

Your support is very much appreciated.

Respectfully,

George 

I think there are some forms here on bp, Gerald Harris offers some here on bp, i like jp moses' forms you can google him. 

Sell your contracts ASAP and get a back up buyer just in case, tell back up he/she will have first access to next deal if they dont get this one.

You dont need a license because you are a principle in the transaction.

Some will say you have to inspect the property but ultimately all that matters is that the end buyer inspects it and is willing to pay more than what you have the property contracted for.

Other parties include title company, you turn contract and earnest deposit into them. Also it would help if you had an agent to give you comps or tell you what the property is worth (you will have to give them something of value in return like maybe retail leads).

As a newbie myself I'll do my best to make sure MY understanding is correct. 

1) As I'm in Kansas City I can't help you here...sorry. :)

2) I'll leave that to pros in CA as it will vary by state.

3) I believe there are good contract templates in the FilePlace under the Resources tab at the top fo the page.