How much does it actually cost to buy a rental property?

14 Replies

Hello, I am a 20 year old that is planning on acquiring my first rental property sometime this year.  At first I thought that saving up $5,000 would suffice, but after working at a real estate development company this summer as an intern I am worried that my target is too low.  

To back up a step, my goal is to buy a one family home at around $50,000 that is close to move in ready that would generate a couple hundred dollars of cash flow a month.  I thought that a 10% down payment would be enough, so I set my savings target at $5,000.  

Now I am thinking that I should save up extra money for closing costs such as inspection, lawyer fees, and a title search.  Also, minor renovations, possible vacancies, etc.

How many of these fees do I actually need to worry about and what are your recommendations for a good amount of money to save before I invest?

Thank you for your replies in advance! 

For an investor property you should assume a minimum of 20% down. You might be able to do 15%, but that will incur PMI and increase your monthly payment more than just the difference in the down payment. In addition you will have a number of up front and closing costs:

inspection

utility turn on fees

appraisal

title company fees

legal fees

recording fees 

lender's title policy

origination fees and charges for the loan

prepaid insurance (typically 14 months insurance)

tax escrow

I'd typically estimate these all at about 2% of the purchase price.  But with a low priced house like this it will be more because many of them are fixed amounts.  $3000-4000 total, at a guess.

You will also need cash in the bank in addition to these. Typically six months PITI. If you're going to own rentals, having cash reserves is ABSOLUTELY essential to avoid disasters. I recommend a minimum of six months rent.

@Rudy Cecere  

welcome to the site.