Real estate license / class/ school

7 Replies

Hello my name is Gaby and I am a newbie about to get my hands somewhat "dirty". I plan on buying  a duplex in about 4 months ( when I find it). I am planning on taking the same path as most newbies which is living on one unit and renting the other.  I plan on flipping about a yr after which will allow me time to do more research and learn more. 

With that said, do you recommend real estate classes and or license? Is that a must in real estate investing? Will that help me more? 

Thank you so much in advance for your time. 

@Gabriela Gomez It's recommended you get your license sometime early on. Finding a investor friendly agent is a pain and communicating through an agent isn't exactly fun. Your license gives you unlimited access to the MLS as well as knowledge you wouldn't know otherwise. Plus the 3% commission doesn't hurt...

In short: Yes, you will need it.

Thank you Jack I needed someones confirmation. Thank you 

Hi Gabriela,

Having a Real Estate License isn't required but it does help.  You don't have to wait to be a licensed Realtor to begin investing, it's not something you MUST have.  By the way, I have a few investor friendly realtors in my network so I know for a fact they aren't hard to find.  Being a newby investor myself, though, I took the advice I received in the BP investor's guide and decided to enter the real estate world by taking the 63 hour real estate licensing course for Florida.  I figured the formal education would help me understand the bigger picture while also learning to be a creative real estate investor as well.