Should I spend money marketing for wholesale deals or save up for my first rental property?

4 Replies

Hey, need a little advice here. I've been wanting to by my first rental property, and as I newbie to investing, of course I started wholesaling. I've been wholesaling for about 6 months got a couple deals in the works but recently I bumped into an agent and i realized I had strayed from the goal of getting a rental. So I have like no savings because I'm spending everything on marketing, and i'm wondering if i should continue to do that. Should i roll the dice and hope i get a big wholesale deal or put my energies into saving money and maybe working overtime so i can afford the downpayment myself. 

what do you think? 

Hi @Kay H.  

I think about this a lot myself too.  Having actually closed a few deals I now have a nice little sum and it does beg the question - reinvest in marketing or get the rental that will have cash flow?  I've decided - for now - to reinvest in marketing and tighten the belt on our personal finances side in saving for the rental.   One of the "issues" I have is I really want a rental purely for cashflow in Baltimore which means I need cash to acquire and get it rent ready.  Maybe I'll rethink as I start expanding my search and also acquiring my real estate agent license to a property where I can leverage my money into the rental. 

To make money you have to spend money if you're a wholesaler so to keep the momentum going I'm expanding my targets a little and reinvesting about 35% back in to marketing for the moment . . . with the hopeful result that my wholesale spreads will start to improve with better negotiating and estimating on my part.

For me, the big thing is I don't spend the money unless I have it.   As much as it would suck if I didn't get a deal off my next marketing round to pay myself back, at least I can sleep at night because I'm not in debt over it.   If you're not in this situation I would tread carefully.