Options? 44-unit NOT in PROBATE yet

5 Replies

Summary:

1. Owner of record is 80+ years old with dementia, out of state in California

2. i am communicating with conservatorship who lives in California and wants nothing to do with property. He is the trustee of the trust

3. 3 heirs on property

4. Currently not in probate. 

Question: What is the quickest way to close? Can i just do an affidavit of heirship then purchase cash or lease purchase? Any other ideas or questions I should ask?

Asset: C-Class 44 unit apartment at 60% market value. Texas. Currently owner of record is 80 yr old owner, not in a trust.

I don't understand: You talk about the trust, and then specify that the property is not is a trust? Could you clarify that?

An 80  yr old person with dementia can live a long time, so you may be jumping the gun on the heirs/probate notion.

Is the conservator a family member, one of the heirs?  I'm no expert but I think his heirs would be nuts to sell it to you while he's still alive. It is much more to their advantage from a tax standpoint to wait and inherit the property. But I guess if they want to sell you don't have to tell them that.

Medium team zen logo vJean Bolger, 33 Zen Lane | http://www.solidrealestateadvice.com

Originally posted by @Brian Gibbons:

Ypr best bet is Rick Harmon probate Calif expert

Thanks Brian. I sent him a message. 

Originally posted by @Jean Bolger:

I don't understand: You talk about the trust, and then specify that the property is not is a trust? Could you clarify that?

An 80  yr old person with dementia can live a long time, so you may be jumping the gun on the heirs/probate notion.

Is the conservator a family member, one of the heirs?  I'm no expert but I think his heirs would be nuts to sell it to you while he's still alive. It is much more to their advantage from a tax standpoint to wait and inherit the property. But I guess if they want to sell you don't have to tell them that.