Sellers underwater. What would you do?

15 Replies

I was recently approached by a motivated seller that's is currently upside on his mortgage. It's a condo that currently is worth 70k, and he owes 90k.

Between condo fees and the existing mortgage, operating expenses end up being around 950 per month. I believe that we could get 1200 per month in rent so we would Cashflow about 250 a month.

He basically told me he would sell the place for what he owes. He has no interest in becoming a landlord himself.

I was thinking this could be a good sub-2 candidate.

Would you take this deal? How can I sell the idea of " subject to" to this seller?

Wouldn't be worth it to me unless I wanted to live there myself but if that were the case then I could buy a condo next to his for 70k or less.  You could try to get a master lease and then sublease his place for the extra 250 and treat that as management costs and let him pay for repairs etc.

I wouldn't do it. I'm a noob and may be wrong but with the 50% rule it would only leave you with $600 so you would be out of pocket for $350/month.

Keoni,

I dont think the 50% rule applies here because its a condo. There isnt really much in terms of operating expenses because water and gas is covered by the condo fee. and PITI works out to be around 700 dollars. So if my total monthly cost is 950 and I can rent it for 1200. id make 250 per month. If I dont have to bring anything to the table because im taking title with no down payment, thats basically free cashflow is it not?

I end up helping the seller get out from having to make payments on a condo he no longer wants, and i get a few hundred dollars extra to add to my portfolio.

Win-win?