What to do with $30K?

13 Replies

I am new to real estate investment. What real estate product and market would you suggest to invest $30K I can take from a HELOC?

@Marc Dufour   Your best bet would probably be to look into wholesaling, as it requires the least amount of cash. What about your personal interest?

What is wholesaling exactly?

How about buy and old market where I can invest $30K and get $1k rent per month?

Depending on the area your in, you may want to try and look for mobile/manufactured homes, they are cheap and bring really good rents. Or do a lease/own option on them, where you can have the tenant/buyer, put a nice down payment down to recoup some of the purchasing cost.

@Marc Dufour  

Check out the middle of the country.  

@James Wise... whom I don't seem to be connected to... always has a number of deals going on in the Cleveland OH area.  They are generally a bit more than 30k, but not much.  Most of his duplexes seem to bring in 1000-1100/month.

I started with $30K HELOC and some equity in my home. I think you could get a hard money loan and make a purchase in the 60K range, rehab it for another $20K to $30K and have a house worth $120K. A hard money lender will give you a deal like this. Deals like this are certainly available in the Cleveland burbs. After you have it rented, you can go to Dollar Bank and they'll give you 70% of your investment, so if you have put in $30 of your own, plus $70 of the hard money lender, you could then refi with Dollar for $70K. You now have $70K go go buy another house. You do have to some experience with construction for this work.

@Marc Dufour  Most of my investments are in Cleveland. You can buy turn key duplexes in Cleveland OH for $30,000 to $35,000 and they will generate a gross monthly rent of $1,000.00+ per month. Feel free to contact me with any questions about the Cleveland market