Motivated Seller Underwater, How can I help ? Make money ?

11 Replies

A family member is 30K underwater on his 2nd home. His ARM will adjust next year and he wants out.

Is there an opportunity there and a way to help ?

I am pretty new with REI and my focus is on rehabbing, but this situation popped up and I dont know what to do.

Any ideas ?

On the other hand, if its a lost cause, what would be good advice for him ?

I'm no expert, but if it's a second home, is there a chance he can rent it out?  Selling for 30k less than his mortgage doesn't sound like a good option. 

He could provide owner financing for somebody.  Some people who can't get traditional financing might be willing to pay an extra 30k for the opportunity.  Or you may be able to sell it, subject to the buyer assuming your relatives loan.  It depends how much 30k is compared to the total value.  I have not done one of these deals, just read about and listened on the podcasts. 

First question to ask is if he renting out the house, will it covers the payment and cash flow?  If it does that is the best option until he can sell the house or pay off the loan slowly until he is no longer under water.  

The second option would be to ask for a short sale, basically giving up the right to to property by selling it for less than the balance of the loan.  Caveat to this method is that it's normally takes a long time for the process, also his credit will takes a big hit so forget applying for car loans or credit card.