Modular homes

39 Replies

What are some of the pros and cons of buying a modular home vs stick built?

Depends on if the "Modular Home" is a mobile home are a "stick built in the factory" home.  I don't need to explain the mobile home, but a home built in the factory is probably the most energy efficient and best built home you can buy...depending on the manufacturer.  As an Architect, I used to design custom homes that a few of my Modular contacts could build in the factory for me.

If you are buying them already on site, after market, that poses problems with mortgages for the buyers.  Most lenders, except the ones that are not afraid of them, won't loan for a Modular home.  There are lenders that will, and most modular home builders know who they are...and have them ready to refer theyr buyers to them...logically so.

Thanks Joe, I am talking about the Modular type of manufactured homes.  Looking at the costs and quality today, I really think it is the way to go- but looking for other things I might have missed.

I've been working for a modular builder for 10 years & we rarely build homes except in the multi-million dollar category.  The pros are that they are all Engineered, built in a dry factory out of the weather. The cons is $$$. There is a lot of overhead in Modular building that there isn't in on site construction.

The other kind of factory built home is Mobile, which includes almost all "manufactured" homes. They are build to HUD building code, which is different then the building code that everything else is built to. In my area they are registered at the DMV like a car. Cons: Lower quality, cheaper construction, depreciate in value, Not desirable. Cost about the same as getting a stick built home if you already own the land. Pros: Quick & easy, minimal site work, great for hard to reach or remote locations.

@Rusty Thompson  I thought the Modular homes were typically cheaper than having a house built?

Originally posted by @Pete T. :