Title Rehab.....with Final Numbers!

23 Replies

This is a pay-it-forward post, inspired by @J Scott  On J's newest site, thescottpad.com, he says that the analysis and the numbers are some of the pages people visit most. I know this was true of me when I discovered J's flipping site, 123flip.com, a couple of years back. I studied the numbers and pictures over and over.  It helped me get over my fear of rehabbing.

So, in the spirit of detailed numbers, I'm posting a deal I completed this summer. I often find it difficult to describe what I do. And I get asked a lot!  I'm not really a wholesaler. Certainly not always a rehabber. Sometimes I buy interests in estates. Sometimes I lend. Mostly, I do a lot of problem solving. I work deals that come my way with the tools I have at the time.

The numbers below are from a deal this past summer. A 2/1 condo, in a good area. It had a few problems. The mortgage was past due about 8 months or so, but with a title flaw delaying the trustee's sale. It was tax defaulted. There were HOA liens and the seller was being sued by HOA. Property had a tenant, a family friend, that hadn't paid in many months. And wasn't going to. Seller lived out-of-area and couldn't/wouldn't deal with the tenant. And couldn't/wouldn't visit the property. She had personal property she wanted to recover from the condo.

I bought the property subject-to the existing financing, solved the problems and resold it (as-is). I've taken out the names of the parties and companies involved, but these are pretty much the exact and final numbers. Questions?

Wow you wouldn't think the lady would just let 50k in equity go that easy.

Certainly not what I think of when I think flip but sure looks a good way to do it.

Way to go, Marie! Mortgage payment $100?

But can you cook?

Originally posted by @Joseph Ball :

Way to go, Marie! Mortgage payment $100?

But can you cook?