Creative Financing for Personal Residence ????

9 Replies

Just wondering if any investors have used creative financing options for their current personal residence or do you go the traditional route and just get a mortgage ? Specifically land contracts, lease options, or owner financing. 

great question.   I've been buying houses for over 10 years.  I honestly feel the best way to buy is Subject to.  I own my owner occ subject to.  And my best deals come subject to.  This way the mortgage payment never shows up on my credit report.  Subject to is simply buying the house from the seller, and keeping the loan in their name...   The next best is owner financing, and yes they are out there...  If you believe they are.   If this info helps you in any way, pls vote for this post....  

First house I bought was owner financed. It was a free and clear house owned by an elderly woman. Bought it off the MLS.

Personally I find subject to too risky for my risk tolerance.

I've seen @Jon holdman all over this site, seems to be knowledgeable.  Perhaps he could share some personal experiences on the sub to pit falls.  As for me, I've personally had a seller call the bank and tell them the house was sold to me.  The bank then called me and asked me if I wanted to change my payment date.  I'm sure there are bad stories, and I'd love to hear them, only from personal experience and not theory.  My mentor has been doing this since the 1908's and he's not had 1 loan called.  hence the reason I do it..