I need advice from Affordable Housing Professionals

17 Replies

Hey I'm a college student/real estate wholesaler looking to do some affordable housing for Unc Charlotte students. If you or someone that you know is a professional in the affordable housing field or has knowledge or connects in Section 8, HUD, Low Income Housing and Assisted Living please leave a comment. Because I have plenty of questions on how I could provide college student housing for Unc Charlotte students in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Chad, I'm not your gal, but wanted to shout out an "Atta boy" to you.  We are passionate about providing affordable housing, but college students are our high end tenants.  Thanks for being intentional in your investing!

Just ask your questions here.  There's really nothing unique about "affordable housing" or section 8.  Many landlords have section 8 tenants.  Neither of those are really applicable to student housing, though.

"Assisted Living" is a completely different ball game.

So, fire away with your questions.  Do some reading in the Rental Property and Landlording Questions forum.

Affordable Housing takes in a large swath, most dealing in Section 8 deal with moderate income and low income, working but contributing to housing expenses, there are a few on a full ride when "low income" units aren't available. Designations of moderate, low and very low are determined from the mean income of an area as determined by HUD.

Assisted living may include any income level, but saying affordable puts the same income guidelines in place for those requiring care and are usually under Medicaid at the state level, with subsidies. Programs available may work in concert to pay costs up to a qualifying level.

Very low includes shelters as well, there are HUD grants as well as public, not for profit organizations, religious and private foundations and generally carry corporate sponsors for non-profit housing providers.