My first Deal?!-- Fannie Mae home

19 Replies

Hello everyone! I'm new to investing and have been trying to find a buy and hold property for a long time (off and on). I found a house on homepath and put an offer for 54,900 and the ignored (listed 67k), we went up by 5 k to 59,500 and they accepted!. I'm excited and hoping to close deal. 

The house is in Southeast Houston which is a lower social economic area, but I'm find with that. I grew up in that neighborhood and made it out just fine! Now on to the question the house seem ready to move in..maybe just paint. Do you think I got a reasonable deal? 

Side note..I'm looking at long term profit. I'm patient

MLS : 43020944

What will the rent be?

By just glancing probably the rent could be from 950 - 1050. Were there any major findings on the inspection? Is that hardwood or laminate?

@MONICA WATSON  

Congrats on your first investment property, I think every investor in this forum can agree that your first deal is always the most difficult and it is ok to make mistakes as you will learn from them. 

In order for you to know if you got a deal, you will have to find out 

what does it rent for? 

Whats your Return on Investment?

How much is your rehab?

Do you have capture equity? 

This are only some of the many questions that you will ask yourself along the way that will help you figure out if you got a good deal. 

Again, congrats and good luck investing!

Congratulations first and foremost......I am assuming that this property have some equity. Also as mention above the amount of rent you charge will play a part and how long your planning on keeping this property. But overall good job!

My realtor thinks it can rent for 850$. Yes, those are real hardwood floors. The house only needs paint. My contract was just aaccepted yesterday so no inspection yet. Any reccs my fellow Houston investors?