My Cold Calling Results

19 Replies

I have started cold calling absentee owners of buildings that have 2 units and up.  I'll pick a neighborhood or zip code, pull the tax records of all the non owner occupied multi-families, look up phone numbers for everyone and then start calling. 

My script

Me: Hello, my name is Brian. I was calling about your building at "123 Main st.".

Owner: Yes, what about it?

Me: I live in the neighborhood, I own some rental property as well.  I just recently sold a building in (other neighborhood) and was looking for something to buy a little closer to home.  I thought I'd give you a call to see if you had any interest in selling it. 

I've made a almost 900 phone calls.  Of those phone calls, the vast majority don't answer. Ill leave a message and move on to the next one. I've gotten 26 appointments, 3 under contract and of those 3 I've closed on 2. 

I'm looking for some input and ways to improve. Ask me questions and critique 

Hello Brian
I'm a newbie looking to get info. Can you tell me where you found the tax records? Did you get info online county website or go to the local courthouse? Any feedback would be appreciated.

Ben Findon

I have my real estate license and there is a service called "Realist". I use that to pull the records.  If you don't have your license the company that owns realist also owns listsource.com which seems to be the most popular one to use.  Realquest.com is also good.

You will have to pay for the lists though

thats awesome!!!! Keep it up.

Thanks for encouragement. Investor/Realtor too here in Pittsburgh

I like the strategy. How much under market value are you getting the houses you have managed to close on so far? I would assume as landlords that your leads are a lot more educated than an average home owner, and therefore more difficult to negotiate with.

Thanks for the info Brian. Jennifer Lee, I'm also from Pittsburgh area!

Micah -