First investment

6 Replies

Hi, I am new to the real estate world. over the past month or two I have been reading on BP getting educated and listening to the podcast, I am starting to feel ready for my first deal.

I spoke with a wholesaler/Friend who provided me with a few potential deals, there is one that seems really good. its in a very low income area but I am limited in what I can afford and this seems like the right place to start. I am looking for help doing my due diligence here, any input is appreciated.

the property is a duplex 

cost 32,000

repairs 10,000

9,500 additional yearly expenses (10% management, 10% vacancy, 10% for repairs and insurance, taxes, utilities)

NOI 1,400

Thanks, 

Phill

Those numbers look great but low income areas has LOTS of other fun things. Like them not filling, high repair costs, etc. Plus getting a loan on such a low amount can also be hard. Are you leveraging or paying cash ?

We invest in class A putting that amount down (20%) and leveraging the rest. I would read posts about low income property. I think you are going to be surprised over the "unique" problems you run into that are going to run your expense up much higher.