Bid strategies?

14 Replies

Hi.  New here.

We've put two offers in.  We were outbid on the first one and I expect to be outbid on the second one too.

The problem is, Tampa's a hot market, and these REO's are being snapped up by either occupant-owners or investors who don't need to make a profit.

I'm a realtor and my husband has a construction background, so we know about how much the properties will cost to rehab, and how much they should sell for.  We put in the highest bid we can and still make a decent profit, but so far nothing.

What kind of strategies do you all use to get your offers accepted?

I have access to a pre-foreclosure list and plan to start working it next week.  Any other ideas?

Know the sellers situation! We have gotten many deals won even though we weren't the highest. Now we weren't 10% off either but having a large enerst money, quick close, etc. Has helped us win. So make your offer "extremely" solid and you would be good to go.

That being said if you are competing with "personals" you are going to have alot of trouble winning as a flipper. Remember these people don't need a profit margin. We tend to buy houses that "turn off" the first time home buyers with a nasty crack (really a benign crack) etc. So go after the ugly but nice houses. You might need to find a wholesalers, etc i fthe neighborhood too hot.

You could ask the listing broker to present your offer only to give you a little leverage, but it has its own problems, if another offer comes higher and he has to present, than you don't have the leverage you had with your commission to get your deal accepted.

All I can say is, try harder.

"Always want a deal never need one."

Promotion
Sundae
Property Marketplace
Find Professionally Vetted Properties from Motivated Sellers
Eliminate the need to hunt for houses again. We bring your next investment opportunity to you.