Free & Clear (assuming) and Deceased Owner??

10 Replies

Greetings:

I'm new to BP and I have taken action by canvassing my local neighborhood and looking for opportunities.  Question...  I ran across a property that has been vacant for nearly a year.  Grass about 4' high in the front and back. I discovered that the owner passed about 10 months ago.  I went online the tax assessor's website and discovered that the last activity or sale date was to this deceased person back in 1969 (which leads me to believe that it may be free and clear).  I would like to obtain this under my belt... perhaps for wholesaling or buy and hold.  What are the necessary steps for dealing with a deceased owner?  Do I try to contact family or would this be an issue with the courts?

Thanks in advance!!

Do a title search first. Then, you will know what you are dealing with.

Do a little homework. In Tulsa, you can go to the library or courthouse and look at property info...deeds, mortgages, liens...anything filed on that property. There is also a website where I can look at Oklahoma court records, lawsuits, criminal acts etc. Assuming you can do the same research, see if there is anything filed in the court records under that owners name. I would expect to see a filing where an atty is representing the heir or heirs to his estate, no matter how small. If none is found, eventually it will end up with the state i suspect, but it has to clear probate etc. If there is a mortgage on it (conventional or even reverse)....then you will also probably see a lawsuit from the creditor who is moving towards foreclosure. In the land records, you should see any liens by HOA, tax authority, other creditors etc along with other encumbrances. This should get you a clear picture of what it might take to get the property. Wait for foreclosure sale? Work out deal with attorney representing the estate to pay them $X.XX amount for them to sell their rights to the property and pay off the mortgage(s), liens etc.