A friend wants to buy a place for around $100k in Denver......what advice do I give them

18 Replies

Hi,

I'm a real estate broker in Denver. The parents of one of my buyers asked me to help them find an investment property in Denver. They have about $70k to spend and want to find something that they can almost pay off - so around $80k-$100k, perhaps fix it up themselves, then rent it out.

I also do some RE investment on my own. My analysis of the Denver market is that the returns aren't good enough to justify rental property investment here in terms of cash flow - it's just an appreciation play which can hit or miss. Instead I've invested in Indianapolis, Detroit suburbs, and Atlanta where I can get good cash flow.

Do I steer this novice investor into remote investing? If they don't want to do that - how can I help them search in Denver other than just MLS searching which I think won't find much that would qualify as a good investment property? Should I steer them into other areas within an hour of Denver? Brighton, Greeley, Ft Lupton, Fredrick? Any good ideas/notions about where I should be helping them focus?

Thanks

John

Hi @John Pruner  

As you know better than anyone, Denver has a strong economy but home prices have become quite high and it's hard to get good returns. I'm not real familiar with Denver so I don't know if there are areas where prices are more affordable but still in good working class neighborhoods. It all really comes down to if the numbers work for them. A lot of people are reluctant to go out of state but this is why I like Indianapolis and Kansas City so much.

@John Pruner I do still see decent cash flow deals in our Denver market, the prices are up but so are the rents. The idea of buying a property for under $100k is pretty difficult as you know, unless time is spent for an off market deal.