Purchasing multiple rental properties using FHA

10 Replies

Hey BP family, as I stated in my goals, im trying to figure out how to build a large portfolio of rentals (for rental income of 5k+ monthly)in the NJ/NY area.

My situation; I've been making 40k a year for the past 3 years (steady job)

-this coming July I will hit 2 years since bankruptcy (so I should be fine in that aspect)

- I have about 15-20k liquid cash

-credit is slowly getting better at 620 now

So this summer I'll officially be looking to purchase multi-family home in NJ area, I picked NJ cause a lot of REO dupelx/triplex are going for under 150k. I guess the reason is the area is not so great BUT there are some beginning signs of gentrification. my questions;

-How can set my self up to for purchase additional property after my first purchase?

-how many times can use a FHA loan (I plan to live one of my units)

-Should I ask FHA for additional funds on top on the mortgage to cover unexpected cost?

-can own all the proprieties my self or do I have to partners with other investors ?

-should I use Section 8 tenants since it give more of a guaranteed cash flow

-should I try and do two closings at the same time ?

Any insight, opinions, links, suggestions are all welcomed, thanks everyone !

@Donald Placide

I will try to answer some of your questions: 

You can purchase I believe up t a 4 unit under FHA financing. You then have to live in the unit for I believe 1 year. You should then be able to buy again with FHA bt will then have to move into the new place. I dont think you can ask FHA to get some extra funds. Any property you purchase has to be in livable move in condition and pass inspection otherwise you wont get a loan on the home. You can own them all yourself assuming you can get approved for the loan. You cant do 2 FHA closings at the same time.

Good luck

Curt Davis, Real Estate Agent in TN (#00321765)