What's the smartest way to finance my 3rd investment property

10 Replies

I have two investment properties bring in a total of 1400 per month. Both of these properties are mortgage free. I would like to buy a third property. Should I buy it with the equity of the second investment or take out a mortgage? Remember,  I am a newbie. .

What's the market price of the two properties? Would you cash flow still if you refinanced 75% of that value?

I think you are asking if you should pull cash out of the existing rentals or get a new mortgage for the new property. To me, it makes very little difference. I would do whichever my lender was comfortable with.

I invest in low income houses. The first property is estimated at a conservative value of  $41000, the Second is $30000. The 3rd property I could make an offer for 26000, it can give me an income for $750.00. After repairs on this house could be at $45000. Yes, I would still cash flow. Also, I have a job. If i refinance  or take a mortgage, my payments wouldn't be more 200 per month.  I can pay that with my salary...what do you think: s mortgage or refinance. Do you think refinancing would reduce the value of my small profile..

I'm still starting out, but from a closing costs perspective, fees will be a large percentage in relation to the small amount financed. Banks don't normally like small mortgages, but perhaps you refinance the $41k property to get the cash needed to buy the $26k property and I imagine some repair costs you've already identified. Your only out of pocket might be closing costs. Or you could see about no cost and just wrap it into the rate.

Zaheer,

The loan amounts are too small. Most banks will not lend below $50k. Your best bet is to google and call up local and community banks and ask if they would do a HELOC on investment properties. A HELOC is typically free of fees and closing costs.