Identity theft

4 Replies

here's a good one for the BP group.  I hope you guys never have to deal with...the settlement attorney that closed my last sfr home was broken into and their files were stolen.  Yup, one of them happened to be mine.  As you guys know, those settlement files have A LOT of personal information in them.  I got a letter from the atty recommending I contact the credit bureaus, which I did and put a 90 day fraud alert on my accounts.  Not a week later, Discover Card calls to ask me about the "new" application I just submitted!  Which of course I didn't.  Now the fun begins.  I had to notify all my credit cards, my bank, get a police report (which, believe it or not, isn't that easy to get in many jurisdictions) so I can put a 7 year fraud watch on my credit.  I've already spent a lot of hours on this and I'm afraid I'm just getting started...Has this happened to anyone else?  Any advice?  

Wow.  Thanks for the warning.  FTC has a publication for jut for you.  Follow this link 

http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/feature-0015-....

Take a look at the publication called "Taking Charge: What To Do If Your Identity Is Stolen".  That should get you started.  

There are a lot of identity theft protection plans available. I have not been a victim but I have received a prompt notice every time my wife or I have opened a credit file. I would hope fast knowledge of the event would limit the damage.

Originally posted by @John Mitchell :