Investing in low income urban areas

12 Replies

I'm just starting in the real estate business, but I'm drawn to plexes and most of the ones I find that I can realistically buy are in dilapidated areas. I'm mostly looking in Birmingham, Alabama. My question is: to get started should I take a chance on cheaper multifamily in order to gain experience. I'm 29 with a full time job, wife 2 kids and about $10,000 to use for bank financing.

Welcome to BP this is a great place to find out almost any information you need. And loaded with great people. I am new to BP but I also have been studying multi units have not touch them yet but this is what I have learned from various people.

Here's the thing that I learned be careful who you tell you have money. People are always willing to take your money for you. With that being said study your current market find out what units are going to give you the best AROI and stay away from government housing.

Check out what bigger investors on here have said like @ben Leybovich have said on this.  

From my experience I would buy in a better area and a SFH so you are learning to manage one unit rather than several in an area with more headaches.

Welcome! @Steven Shotts  

The short answer is No. Consider that the type of property you run and the area it is in will attract a certain type of personality. Is this property and this area going to attract tenants with the personality that you would like to do business with. Only you can answer that question. Don't just take a deal to take it. Decide what type of deal you want and then go make that deal happen. If that takes you a little bit longer so be. Better you get YOUR deal then find out the deal you got........ well wasn't a deal.