Is buying in rough neighborhoods worth it?

12 Replies

I am new to this and have just been looking at real estate around where I live. I am wanting rental properties. Most things in my price range are in tough neighborhoods. Everyone I talk to about it says it is a bad idea to buy something in those parts of town. Any advice? Should I just be patient and wait for the right buy or take some risks? I don't want to be let down on my first real estate investment.

rough neighborhoods have distinct challenges.. and if your just starting out and have no expreince I personally would not recommend it.. ONce you get some experience and want to go in that asset class and can do that with your eye's wide open,   And if you go into the low end stuff you really need to scale quickly other wise you will probably get burned out dealing with those type of properties.

@Tyler Shackelford what do you consider a rough neighborhood? Everyone has a different perception. Target humble areas.

Frank

Thank you Jay for answering that question I was wondering the same thing 

If the property is in an area you don't feel safe going to at night, you might want to pass buying it. You can fix up a busted house. You can't fix up a busted neighborhood.

@Brenda Lyons  

I live in Ohio Oregon I see your in Oregon Ohio   :)

Thanks for the answers. The going at night or not is a good way to judge it. A lot of the areas I have seen these houses are areas I probably would not go at night.

I think my best bet at this time is to keep saving until I find that right place to start.