Land deal under contract, now what?

8 Replies

Just a quick introduction for myself. I'm a newbie wholesaler and just started dabbling in vacant land after listening to @Seth Williams. I have a small parcel under contract. Because the price is so low (under $100), I figured the quickest and easiest way to close would be using a quit claim deed. Seth has a good video on how to fill one out. My question is what happens after the seller fills out the deed? Ive never been through a closing before so I'm unsure on what the next step is to get the deed recorded with the county. I will not be using a title company either. Thanks for your help! 

don't know how its done in your state but here I just go to the trustee office at the county and get it recorded. Give them a call and find out. Should just be minimual filing fee-

Thanks, @John Santero  . So really I just need to take the signed  and notorized quit claim deed and get it recorded? No more paperwork needed?

Do you have any idea if the "seller" is actually the only owner, if there are property taxes owed, a mtg., other liens, etc.?

if the property is in an HOA be careful about past due HOA dues and assessments; e.g. Mowing assessments.

@Eli Schmidt  

After reading through your post again I wanted to add a bit more...

First, I applaud you for getting in their and getting started.  I sat around on the sidelines for about year studying / learning / procrastinating until I got focused on vacant land.   I am in the processes of closing my 3rd deal in 3 months and I attribute my willingness to actually get in and do something, as well as my success so far , largely to @Seth Williams  and his BP podcast interview, responsiveness to posts and is REtipster site.