Why is my buyer's agent so motivated to only review pocket listings?

12 Replies

I understand that once a property is listed, the competition grows, and the pool of people with awareness of the offering increases... but this one just went live, fits all his criteria: the price, the CAP rate, the potential upside, the cash on cash, it all fits. But he's ambivalent because it hit the open market last week.

I'm fairly new to commercial properties selling in the millions, so I'm deferring to you, Bigger Pockets! What's the deal?

"his criteria"...who is the buyer, you?

No, I'm not the buyer. I'd totally buy this property - it's a 15% CAP pulling in nearly $775,000 a year, net - and the upside could add nearly a third to it, with proper oversight and development. If I had the money I'd have closed the day I finished due diligence. Alas, I am not a multimillionaire. Yet.

So who is 'he'? The agent?  What criteria does an agent have? They normally seek their client's criteria and look for property based on that.   To answer your heading question, agents love pocket listings because they get both sides of the commission.  Same work, twice the money.  Just my experience.

The 'he' is the agent, yes. The criteria is pretty simple: 4-6MM, 10% CAP or higher, 11% cash on cash, 25% down payment. Mine delivers all of that, at a higher CAP, with the potential to add another 30% to the bottom line by continuing development.

It would be a big payday if he got both sides, I suppose. I didn't think of it on those terms. Makes sense, though. We're all in the game to make some cash.

Yes, he is definitely looking to make more money. I am a Realtor, and although it is nice to make more money from a single transaction, our duty is to fully represent buyers to the best of our abilities, which means showing them any and everything that meets their criteria. If I were you, I would insist on seeing the property or look for another Realtor who will put your interests first.

Good luck!