Your thoughts on this foreclosed condo which has no HOA

12 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the world of real estate investing and would like to hear from experts on this condo opportunity in a 3 unit building I have in front of me. Here are the facts as I know them:

LP: 130K

Taxes: 4K / year

HOA: 0

Potential Rental Income after fix-up: 2K / month

Since the property has been foreclosed, it has:

1. no working heat. It has a separate heating unit in basement, which appeared to be off and very old.
2. no electricity. Probably cut-off by PSEG for non payment of bill
3. no appliances
4. Building has no condo association and therefore no insurance and HOA dues.
5. leak stains on the roof. No active leaking. Since no HOA, I will be responsive for the roof as this unit is on the top floor.

My main concern is that the building has no HOA and no insurance. How does that affect me as an investor and what steps should I take while approaching this opportunity.

Regards
Sandeep

The original owner, who converted to condominiums, never established the HOA. At least this is what I have learned from the Real estate agent.

Who maintains the common areas?

I would Not touch this.  I've seen with 4plex "conversions". No, or a defunct, COA is a disaster.  There is no method for separating yourself from the issues/problems with the other two units.

Originally posted by @Wayne Brooks :

I would Not touch this.  I've seen with 4plex "conversions". No, or a defunct, COA is a disaster.  There is no method for separating yourself from the issues/problems with the other two units.

I agree. Didn't know you could have condos without an HOA. How does that work?

the common area is the: entrance door, stairs and roof.

No one is maintaining them. They are in bad shape.

Originally posted by @Wayne Brooks :

What do you mean by COA?

Does the high ROI because of the high rent and no condo dues offset for additional issues? Your thoughts?

Originally posted by @Neil Aggarwal :