quadplex

5 Replies

I am a newbie, and I have been following a foreclosed quadplex, it was under contract but now it is available again but has not been re-listed. It needs some rehab but it is really a great deal, basically flooring and a kitchen in two units. All four units have new electric and plumbing. Asking 69K should appraise for at least 120K, that is what the neighboring quad sold for in June 2014. My credit score is low and funds are limited, how can I get creative with this when it is a REO?

Contact a local fHA lender there are many programs for loan assistance

http://www.homeloanlearningcenter.com/consumerhelpdesk/specialprogramsforhomebuyers.htm

You could find a short term partner to cosign on the loan until you get your credit up then refinance after a year or pay a credit repair company to bump up your score 100pts within 90 days and write the offer allowing for a 90 day close for due diligence, pending financing etc. There are also loans out there by hard money lenders that do not look at your credit as much but you would want to refi in a year this way also b/c its expensive money. When you are looking to purchase a fourplex the bank is looking at the asset more than your credit to see if the income data is sustainable but they do look at your credit. They also will look at your history in owning/managing units for consideration. Make sure you have ran your cash flow figures correctly, have sound #'s for rents in the area, and multiple quotes for the rehab. You can never be too cautious when running the #'s so be sure you have included all the variable expenses before you move forward. 

Best of luck

I am interested to know what credit repair company can raise your credit score by 100 pts?