Active Duty...VA out of question, need help. Not Pro Yet...

12 Replies

So I recently purchased a "home" in Illinois, for me and my family with the VA loan, and I am renting it out until I finish my service which is 1 1/2 years in Salt Lake City, UT. By the end of the year I would like to have either my first flip, or my second buy and hold property under my belt. I have to advise, i do not have funds to support this but I will continue to gather and try anything within reason as necessary. I am just starting out I might add, but I am looking for any advice that would help me. any suggestions? Thank You BP

Thank you for protecting my freedom @Jahmar Childs . There is an investor here (her name is on the tip of my tongue) that her husband is in the Navy and they have a few houses from their different stations. So it is very doable. Is there a specific reason the VA loan is not an option? You may also find the podcast with James vermillion of value. He was stationed overseas when he first started out. I'm gonna go look for the Navy gal. I can see her just not remember that name.

Good luck.

@Jahmar Childs  

Keep reading on here, listen to the podcasts, ask lots of questions and live below your means and save money. With that house rented out and Navy W-2 income you should be able to qualify for another property and you could even get another VA loan depending on how much your first one is for. You could also look into an FHA loan with a 203k on a foreclosure to fix up. Lots of ways to reduce the initial money out of pocket but make sure you are buying the properties right, that is where you will make your money. I am also an active duty investor so let me know if you have any questions. Good luck!

-Bill

William Allen, Real Estate Agent in FL (#SL3330247)
850-483-1761