What does it take for you to cash flow $1K/month?

40 Replies

Hello,

I’d like to get an idea of what it takes for you to cash flow $1K/month. I am a newbie and in the midst of ironing out my short and long term plan/goals. I believe that if I can cash flow $3K/month I can quit my job and get by (barely). That is assuming I am living off my cash flow.  I will have reserves already lined up for my properties if I quit my job.

While I understand there are so many variables in real estate, I just want to get real world examples of what $1K/month cash flow looks like. Is it from SFH, multi-family, commercial? I would appreciate if you could follow the template below. It will give me and I'm sure many others a benchmark in which to start.

Monthly rent:
Expenses:
Mortgage:

PS - I understand you might have to combine several properties to get $1K/month cash flow, please write that down too!

For me, it looks like about $2000 per month in gross rents.  So, one house that generates $2000/month, two houses that each generate $1000/month, three houses that each generate about $650/month, etc.

I have 4 properties that cash flow about $200/mo each. Could be more but I'm using a property manager.

Keep in mind that with depreciation allowance, that $1K/month may be un-taxed in the current period. That means that your $1K/month would translate into a higher than $1K/month (taxed) salary from a W-2 type job, since your employer will take out taxes. Just something to think about.

As @J Scott points out there are an infinite # of was to achieve that.  

With financed deals figure about 200 min per unit per month for SFHs or very small multi units. (2-4) Every investor is different but that is a reasonable and common criteria. Any less cash flow than that and you are probably taking too much risk.