Military and moving around... Where do I have investment properties?

10 Replies

I am a college student and I just got accepted into pilot training with the Air Force, this is my dream, but not how I plan on making my money. I am very interested in Real Estate investing and am currently saving up for my first down payment. I have struggled to find ideas from people with military careers and I was wondering if someone has some good insight on this. The question is where I should have my investment properties if I am moving around all of the time, because if I invested in properties at every base, that means finding a new management company every time I leave which would be really tough. I have been told it is a good idea to live near them or have them in some sort of relative cluster... but again, this is difficult with a military career. Any ideas even if you aren't military are greatly appreciated!

Nathan,

It completely comes down to finding an area you are comfortable with and working with a reputable property manager in that area.

If you decide to invest in more than one property, you can always go back to that property manager and ask for investment properties they know are available.  This way, you don't have to have managers spread across the country and you can enjoy a fairly passive income without headaches.

@Nathan Singer

Welcome. I have a buddy who closed on 242 units while deployed. You might consider student housing see below.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers).

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.