Buying Out of State - Newbie

32 Replies

Hello all, I am a newbie here and would like to know what steps I should take when investing out of state. Thank you.

@Eric DeVito

First you need to define what you want to invest in.  I assume you are talking about landlording out of state.  Bear in mind there are many options involving notes, wholesaling, agency or lending money.

Then find people you trust with your money, time and energy.

There are several BPers investing in midwestern states.

@James Wise

and @Steve Lawson

are the two I'm familiar with.  Both have a variety of options.

If you want to be more hands on, find a place within reasonable driving distance.  For a Brooklyn person, I'd head north to college towns.  If you drive fast, the Albany area has TONS of stuff for sale in both residential areas and college areas.

@Aaron Montague

Thank you for the heads up. I am really leaning towards the PA area. Looking at Harrisburg, and other areas near Philly metro area. It is not to far of a commute for me from NYC. Albany seems to be a bit to far up North for my liking. Also yes I am talking about landlording, I would like to get a multifamily unit, looking at 3/4 unit multifamily homes. I would probably go the Property Manager route since I work full time and I am new so things might get hectic.

@Eric DeVito

Philly is an aggravating distance from NYC :)  I thought the drive was quite a bit shorter than it actually was.  Plus the traffic is rather hectic.

Yeah, you'll almost definitely need to get a PM if you buy a MFH.

Albany is a hike.  Poughkeepsie (Vassar) was more of what I was thinking.  I had success in Troy (RPI) for several years.