Where to start with a rental income property

11 Replies

I am new to Bigger Pockets and have been listening to a few podcasts, reading a few popular books. But the situation that I am in now, I feel as though I should probably do even more research on how to start.

I found a property that I would like to purchase (by the way I will not be financing because it is through a foreclosed auction)

Is it too risky for my first investment? I currently have a contractor and an accountant. Would I need anyone else for my first property?

Eventhough you are buying as is, Its good to consult with a lawyer.  Has the contractor inspected the property and given you an estimate?  Did you go to a realtor for a bpo or do you know the arv?

You have to define risk.

If you are paying with Cash then you have no monthly payments so the risk is whether it's worth what you paid for it, not whether the cash flow covers the note. You have no risk of being foreclosed on.

Then you have to decide if the rental income is sufficient, after you've brought the home up to rentable condition.

A real estate attorney is good to have, but not necessary. A contractor, whom you trust, is absolutely necessary if you aren't able/willing to do the necessary repairs to bring the property to that rentable condition. The accountant is nice to have, but not a necessity.

Do you have prospective renters already? If not, I'd argue that a property manager/ realtor / resource for finding tenants is more important than an accountant at this point.