Extremely low appraisal

8 Replies

I've been searching and grinding and finally got my first fourplex into escrow. Asking price is 375k and today the dreaded appraisal came in at 300k. How do I tell the seller the property is way over priced when they think it's worth 400k?

@Brandon Thomas I would sit down with them and show them the appraisal.  If they are still insistent on the $375k, see if they are interested in seller financing it to you.

@Wes Eaves I'm new to rei other than buying and selling my house. Is it common practice to purchase mfh at 75k over appraisal value? 

The first thing to do would be to show him the appraisal as Brandon mentioned. Bring any other support along that you can find. If that doesn't persuade him, it's probably time to walk. 

Brandon,

The market the property is located in will matter heavily, and the urgency of the sell.

For beginners, look at the appraisal, and the comparatives that were used. Assuming you are familiar with the area, given this new information, consider reassessing the true market value of the property. 

A few things to also consider is what you are competing against, assuming you have concluded the property is actually worth more, to you, vs. what the bank will pay. I bring this up, as you can leverage this appraisal to lower the price, because unless your in a hot market with cash buyers, and people who are seeking creative investment strategies, the seller may very well feel as if they either sell at market price, or continue to hold on, until the market, in their region increases in value. Unless, they are desperate of the monies.

Lastly, consider what type of cash flow you will generate. If the numbers make sense, you may want to over pay on the property

If you ask me, based on what you've shared, I ask the owner to sell at appraised price, since as far as I'm concerned, that's what it's worth.

I do a lot of 4 units, so if you have specific questions, feel free to reach out.

Good luck!