looking for advice on a laon

4 Replies

Hi all,

first post on BP. 

I'm wondering how easy it would be to add partners on a loan one partner has been pre qualified for.

the situation is that we have 4 partners. One has been pre-qualified for enough to cover our first deal (150k range in Mass/RI). of the other partners one is in the army and will be deployed soon, another will be starting medical school in august and has no income, and I currently work under the table. We all have decent credit (700 fico range with no adverse credit events), would we have trouble adding these other partners to the loan, or qualifying as a group?

Any advice or experience would be much appreciated, Thank you.

-Peter

@Peter Radonich

Assuming you're seeking a standard investment property mortgage with a traditional bank (as opposed to commercial, which I'm not an expert in), adding other people on to a loan application is possible, but it's not always easy. The lender will want credit, income, and assets for everybody on the loan application, which can create a paperwork nightmare. 

The lender will also price the loan to the lowest credit scores of all applicants, which means you may get a less favorable deal than if the application had just the most creditworthy borrower on it. 

In today's lending world, it's better to keep things simple if you can. If you can go with less people on the application, it will be easier to get the loan done. 

@Mark F.