IF YOU HAD TO START OVER

16 Replies

I am brand new to BP and to Real estate investing compared to most here, so i am looking for Do's and Dont's.

Please give any advise or suggestions you may have, I will be grateful in my journey to better future.

Hey Rishi,

Personally, I took the house hacking route to real estate investing, buying a single family REO property that needed some repairs and then living in it. Just last year my wife and I bought another property and rented the first house for a profit. In between I bought a condo with some creative financing and we rent that also. The advantage to buying the home to live in it is that you can secure good financing with as little as 3.5% down. For our second home we used 5% conventional financing. If I had to do it over, I would do the same thing, BUT, I would have done it more frequently when we were younger. If we were to move we would keep the property we are currently living in as a rental because we bought it well, but it would be nice to have another one or two small properties under our belt with low-down financing. Now we're at the point in which we've accumulated so much stuff it really isn't fun moving!!

@Rishi Patel

I would make these kind of contacts right away

A broker of residential real estate 30 years experience

A broker of commercial real estate 30 years experience

Financial planner to understand accumulation of wealth with the stock market, mutual funds, etc

Go to www.ftc.gov and www.myfico.gov and www.investopedia.com - learn as much as you can there

A real estate flipper locally and understand how you can buy, fix it and resell

I would go to Toastmasters right now and learn how to give a great speech

See a title company manager and buy books on closing residential property

Understand leasing property and eviction procedures in your state